Alumni Resource Book
Alumni Association   •   Truman State University    •   Kirksville, Missouri

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1. Introduction

2. Contacts

Chapter & Club
Alumni Board of Directors
University Contact Info

3. Chapter/Club Management

Purpose
Structure
General Administrative Info
Tips for Successful Chapters & Clubs
Working with Volunteers
Working with the University
Planning for Officer Succession
Honor Chapter Structure & Points System
Sample Alumni Survey

4. Membership

Benefits of Chapter Membership
How to Build Chapter Membership

 5. Communications

Chapter Communications
Chapter Email Accounts

Social Media Best Practices

Sample Membership Letters
Miscellaneous Communications Samples

6. Event Planning

Organizing & Planning Events
Banquet Planning
Care Package Event
College Fair Program
Freshmen Send-Off
Golf Tournaments
Member-at-Large Events: Tailgate
Silent Auction
Other Event Suggestions

  7. Marketing Alumni Events

Guidelines for Submitting Event Info to the University
  ALUMNI EVENT SUBMISSION FORMS
 
   -Online Event Form
     -Printer-friendly Event Form (PDF file)

8. Scholarships

Establishing a Foundation Scholarship
Current Chapter Scholarships & Criteria
Sample Scholarship Appeal Pieces
Sample Thank-You Note to Donor

 
 

Alumni Association
Truman State University
McClain Hall 205
100 E. Normal
Kirksville, Missouri 63501-4221
Telephone: (800) 452-6678 or (660) 785-4133

E-mail: alumni@truman.edu
Web Site: http://alumni.truman.edu


2. Contacts:  University Contact Information

8For more information on offices on campus and administrative services, visit the Truman Offices Web site.
 

CAMPUS OFFICES

PHONE

E-MAIL

Academic Affairs, VP of

(660) 785-4105

vpaa@truman.edu

Admissions Office

(660) 785-4114

admissions@truman.edu

Advancement/Alumni Relations Office

(660) 785-4133; (800) 452-6678

alumni@truman.edu


Public Relations Office

(660) 785-4243

heidi@truman.edu

Charles Hunsaker,
  Director of Development

(660) 785-4028

hunsaker@truman.edu

Brad Chambers,
  Major & Planned Gifts

(660) 785-4124

bchamber@truman.edu

Becky Pike,
  Scholarships/Special Initiatives

(660) 785-4688

bpike@truman.edu

Deanna Rood,
  Alumni Publications

(660) 785-4192

drood@truman.edu

Denise Smith,
  Director of Alumni Relations

(660) 785-4174

dlsmith@truman.edu

Cindy Woods,
  Research

(660) 785-7691

cwoods@truman.edu

Athletics

(660) 785-4235

athletics@truman.edu

Business Office

(660) 785-4149

busoffice@truman.edu

Career Center

(660) 785-4353

careers@truman.edu

Commuter College

(660) 785-4864

 

Financial Aid Office

(660) 785-4130

finaid@truman.edu

Graduate Office

(660) 785-4109 

gradinfo@truman.edu

Greek Life Office

(660) 785-7205

 

International Student Office

(660) 785-4215

internat@truman.edu

Library

(660) 785-4038

pickler@truman.edu

Multicultural Affairs

(660) 785-4142

bthomas@truman.edu

Public Relations

(660) 785-4016

 

Registrar, Office of (transcripts & diplomas)

(660) 785-4143

registrar@truman.edu

ACADEMIC DIVISIONS

PHONE

E-MAIL

Business and Accountancy

(660) 785-4346

 

Education

(660) 785-4383

 

Fine Arts

(660) 785-4417

 

Human Potential and Performance

(660) 785-4669

 

Communication Disorders

(660) 785-4669

 

Health and Exercise Science

(660) 785-4456

 

Nursing

(660) 785-4557

 

Language and Literature

(660) 785-4481

 

Libraries and Museums

(660) 785-4038

 

Math and Computer Science

(660) 785-4547

 

Military Science

(660) 785-4451

 

Parking Services

(660) 785-7400

 

Professional Development

(660) 785-4409

 

Residential College Program

(660) 785-4409

 

Science

(660) 785-4597

 

Student Recreation Center

(660) 785-4847

 

Social Science

(660) 785-4636

 

BOOKSTORES

 

 

Campus Bookstore

(660) 785-4212

truman@bkstore.com

Patty’s University Bookstore

(660) 627-7287

pattys@cableone.net

PUBLICATIONS

 

 

Truman Review

(660) 785-4133

drood@truman.edu.

Truman Today

(660) 785-4242

heidi@ruman.edu

The Index

(660) 785-4449

index@truman.edu

Alumni Connection

(660) 785-4133

drood@truman.edu

For more information on offices on campus and administrative services, visit the Truman Offices web site.