Truman Review    
Archives About the magazine Alumni website Contact

Winter 2011, Vol. 14, No. 2
Class Notes - Sidebars
Harry Gallatin ('49) was enshrined as part of the inaugural Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association Hall of Fame. Gallatin played basketball between 1946-48 on what a majority of Truman supporters call the greatest two teams in the history of the sport at the university. He was a two-time All-MIAA selection and scored 816 career points in just two years of play. Gallatin made the NBA All-Pro Team in 1953-54 and 1954-55 while playing with the New York Knicks.
Paul Wilson ('59), of Shelbyville, Mo., has been selected as the 2010 Northeast Missouri Livestock Person of the Year. He will be inducted into the Missouri Livestock Symposium's Hall of Fame at the 2010 Missouri Livestock Symposium scheduled for Dec. 3-4, 2010, in Kirksville, Mo. Paul has been an active livestock producer and advocate for livestock producers and livestock production in general.
Photo courtesy Toni Moore Photography
Judy (Mac Bain) Alter ('64), of Fort Worth, Texas, was inducted into the Texas Literary Hall of Fame in October 2010. Judy serves as director of Texas Christian University Press and is a novelist and author of books for both adults and young readers.
Helen (Breidenstein) Fenlon ('64) and Bob Fenlon ('65), of Mexico, Mo., were honored with the Stribling Community Service Award presented by the Mexico Area Chamber of Commerce. The Fenlons are both partners in Fenlon and Fenlon, Attorneys at Law.
Photo courtesy The Mexico Ledger
Dennis Crabtree (70) received the Iowa Lions Ralph A. Whitten Service Award at the Iowa Lions State Convention in Des Moines, Iowa, on June 5, 2010.
Paul Copenhaver ('73) of Moberly, Mo., has been inducted into the Missouri Bandmasters Association's Hall of Fame. The MBA Hall of Fame selections are based on exemplary service and dedication to music education and bands in Missouri. Copenhaver has taught bands at all levels in the Moberly Public Schools from 1973-2006 and is the band director at Moberly's St. Pius X School. He is also the assistant conductor/principal trumpet of the Columbia Community Band, performs on trumpet with the Show-Me Brass Band and the Harmonium Brass Quintet.
Sandra D. Feemster ('82) was named "Teacher of the Year" for the University City (Mo.) School District. She has taught in the district for 23 years and currently works with fifth and sixth graders as a teacher for science, math, and reading.
Keri (Nowlin) Tipton ('89), of Columbia, Mo., was a finalist for the Columbia Daily Tribune 2010 Business Woman of the Year Award. The awards program recognizes women who exemplify the highest standards of the Columbia business community. Keri is president of Bucket Media Inc., a media buying firm that was named as a finalist for the 2010 Small Business of the Year Award presented by the Columbia Chamber of Commerce.
Bob Hall ('90) was named Educator of the Year by the Missouri Middle School Association. Hall teaches eighth-grade algebra, pre-algebra and math projects and applications at the Kirksville Middle School.
Steve Willott ('91, '92) received the Presidential Award for Mathematics and Science Teaching. Winners of this Presidential honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion as well as an expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony and several days of educational and celebratory events, including visits with members of Congress and science agency leaders. Willott teaches Advanced Placement Statistics and Calculus at Francis Howell North High School in St. Charles, Mo.
Anna (Worrell) Baker ('99) was selected as a member of the "40 Under 40" Class of 2010 by the Wichita Business Journal. The publication recognizes outstanding young professionals for their business success and their contributions to the community. Baker is a senior commercial analyst with Intrust Bank NA.
Amanda White ('99) was selected to receive a "Future Leaders" fellowship awarded by the Theatre Communications Group, a national organization that strengthens, nurtures and promotes professional not-for-profit American theatre. In "Future Leaders," emerging leaders in all areas of theatre are mentored by accomplished theatre professionals at a host theater. Starting in January 2011, White is spending 18 months serving as the associate artistic director for the William Inge Center for the Arts in Independence, Kan. She is working with Peter Ellenstein, the artistic director of the Inge Center, who is mentoring White in running a successful professional rural theatre organization through collaborations with volunteers, community and educational organizations.
Elizabeth "Lizzie" Schuerman (00), an associate with Tabbert Hahn Earnest & Weddle, LLP, was selected as the 2010 Indianapolis Bar Association Young Lawyer of the Year. As committee chair of the Young Lawyers Division Bar Enhancement Committee, she organized well-attended and highly praised quarterly luncheons including a judges roundtable, mediator's roundtable, and a financial planning session. She has also volunteered on the Go Green committee and participated in community beautification projects with Keep Indianapolis Beautiful.
Dominic Armstrong ('02) made his debut in September 2010 with the New York City Opera in the New York City debut of Leonard Bernstein's final opera, "A Quiet Place." He also sang at the Installation Ceremony for University President Troy D. Paino on Sept. 17.
Alicia Busse ('03) has been included in the St. Louis Business Journal's "30 Under 30" Class of 2010. The award recognizes top young leaders for their accomplishments as business and community leaders. Busse is a compensation manager for Smurfit-Stone Container Corp.
Andrew Greiner ('08, '09) successfully completed the Uniform CPA Exam and was among 16 recipients honored with an Excel Award. The award is granted to Illinois CPAs who achieved a total average score of 90 or more and completed all four parts of the exam within two consecutive testing windows and were in the top five percent of the scores of those who completed all the requirements in Illinois. Medals are awarded to those with the top scores in the State.

More from Class Notes section:


Truman Review magazine
Published by Office of Advancement, Truman State University,
McClain Hall 205, 100 E. Normal Ave., Kirksville, Missouri 63501;
Copyright Truman State University 2011.